Another ten meals

I did it again. Yay me!

Another two weeks worth of meals and the shopping done too.

Here they are (again in no particular order, because I am not a rule follower):

Homemade Pizza – Sometimes I use Pioneer Woman’s crust recipe and sometimes I use this one from Our Best Bites. Both are very good and very simple, yet they are very different tasting. Pizza for the boys is usually 1/2 Canadian bacon & pineapple and 1/2 cheese. I, however, am addicted to this Carmelized Onion and Gorgonzola pizza. I have adapted that recipe a little by adding spinach and leaving off the olives…….Soooo good!

Chicken Tortilla Soup – This is a carry over from the last menu (ten meals planned for two weeks and we had a carry-over? We obviously had a few cereal or “fend for yourself” nights) 🙂 The good news though is that there was enough of this leftover to freeze some for another meal!

Sloppy Joes and Fries – This is a standby and usually what Dave makes when it’s his turn to cook. I don’t always dig it, but tonight I totally devoured it. I guess that’s what eating only a bag of peanut butter M&M’s for lunch will do to ya.

Orange Beef and Broccoli – I LOVE THIS!! It is one of my favorites and a little labor intensive, but so worth the effort. I begged this recipe from my friend Amy, so if you want it you have to beg it from me.

Chili and Baked Potatoes – Nothing fancy, just a basic homemade chili, but I love how the toppings for these two things just go together. Or you can make the chili a topping for the potato. We ate this this past Sunday and had invited two guys over that we met at church. They are Optometry interns here at the hospital and work as the AWANA game leaders too. They are really neat guys and my boys LOVE them. They just kept raving over dinner though, and finally I said “thank you guys, but it really wasn’t that fancy” to which one of them replied “anything eaten at a table off of real dishes is fancy”! Ah yes, I seem to have forgotten college days.

Chicken Parmesan Bundles – Found these while looking for a different recipe. They looked good, so they are our token “new” recipe this go round.

Taco Salad – a family favorite, but not made very often because I can’t stand paying over $8 for a bag of chips.

Potato Soup – I am on the hunt for the “perfect” potato soup recipe, so this is a new recipe too.

Chicken Enchilada’s – These are already made and in the freezer and will probably become my dish for this weekends church potluck. (shhhhh, just between me and you……..I don’t like potlucks.)

Biscuits & Gravy – by request from Ben. Total comfort food and mmmmmm, good! I used Elena’s biscuit recipe (except I did not roll the biscuits in crisco and flour, instead I just brushed them w/ a little butter) and I pestered my friend Craig for his Sausage Gravy recipe that Ben had declared “the best”. There is no recipe, but there were helpful hints.  And while I did not unseat Craig in his reign as King of B&G, I was told it was very good!

So there’s our ten for two more weeks.

I could use your help though…..I need a couple of “Rice and Beans” type of recipes. Got any to share?

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Another ten meals

  1. Rice and Beans recipe:
    Open a can of refried beans, heat, top with cheddar and serve with rice.

    Ok, seriously? I make my own refried beans by cooking a bag of pintos in the crock pot. Here that costs about $2 per bag. Then I mash ’em and add butter and salt. I do serve them topped with cheddar. I also make mexican fried rice. Put about 1 TBSP of oil in a skillet, fry up about 1 cup of rice. Add 1/2 diced onion and 1 clove of garlic, smashed. When the onion and garlic are brown, add 1 cup of water, one can of tomato sauce, and 1 small can of green chilis. reduce heat, cover and cook for about 30 minutes, stirring occasionally and checking for doneness.
    Slap a bag of plain corn chips on the table and call it a fiesta.

  2. Lee Ann

    Ya you!!!! Can’t wait to try the gargonzola pizza. Sounds fabulous for me! My family wouldn’t touch it, but I have to make my own crust anyway. Oh how I wish my family would eat taco salad. Steve won’t even touch lettuce with his fingers 😦 See what I’m up against here? Tell us how the potato soup is. I love me some good potato soup!

  3. Meagan

    I have the perfect potato soup recipe. Gimme your Orange Beef and Broccoli recipe and I’ll give you my soup recipe! 😉

    I also have a good recipe for Red Beans and Rice but it has liquid smoke in it. I don’t know how easy that would be for you to get. Let me know if you want it.

    I am definitely going to try that carmelized onion and gorgonzola pizza…yummo!

  4. Kris

    Baked Potato Soup
    2 lg potatoes: baked & cubed
    3T butter
    1 diced onion
    2T flour
    4c chicken stalk
    2c water
    1/2c corn starch
    1 1/2c instant potatoest
    1t salt
    pepper
    1/2t basil
    1/8t thyme
    1c milk
    saute onion in butter
    add flour
    add rest of ingredients (milk last)
    heat
    garnish with grated cheddar, bacon & green onions

  5. Amy

    Did I give you that orange beef & broccoli? If I did, I don’t remember!

  6. You can’t have potato soup without a can of carnation milk! 🙂

    I have an awesome B&G recipe too, and that, too involves a can of carnation milk! Ahh, comfort foods!

    P.S. Dean and I are on a diet, so all we’re eating is stupid chicken breasts and shiifish with veggies until we go to Hawaii, then FOOD, ITS ON!

  7. kathleen holmes

    Orange Beef and Broc,,, Mmmm
    I am begging, please??
    And thanks for your website, I am one of those
    LURKER types, found you form the alaska sites.
    thanks again,
    k

Leave a Reply

