Ten Meals

I like to be organized. That’s not to say that I always am, but I like to be.

Especially with meals. Flying by the seat of your pants on meals can get expensive, especially here.

So today I wrote out ten days worth of dinners. It took me a while, but I thought of ten!

Then I shopped for all ten meals. Uggghh. Talk about painful (on the wallet).

Because I like you all, I’ve decided to share my two-week menu with you:

Philly Cheese Steak Sandwiches and Salad – this was my husbands idea, and he wanted them with Cheez Whiz. Gotta admit they were good!

Thai Peanut Salad – one of our very favorites! Ben and I fight over who gets to lick the spoon after we make the dressing 🙂

Black Bean Soup – This is new to our menu…..hope everybody likes it.

Tacos – an old standby

Spaghetti/French Bread/Green Beans – another old standby. I actually highly dislike spaghetti, but my family loves it so I put up with it once in a while.

BBQ Meatballs/Rice/Broccoli – these are THE BEST meatballs ever, but they take some time to make. Definitely a “Sunday Dinner” meal. Hmmm, we should find a family to invite over for dinner next Sunday.

Chicken Tortilla Soup – This is my own recipe and it’s good! I’ll have to share it with you sometime.

Grilled Cheese/Canned Soup – just like it sounds.

Fauxtisserie Chicken */Mashed Potatoes/Green Beans –  anyone care to guess how much a whole chicken is here (per pound).

BBQ Chicken Sandwiches (with left over fauxtisserie chicken)/French Fries/Salad

So there is our ten for the next two weeks. I don’t plan out what days we eat what because I’m not a rule follower, and if I had a menu that said “Monday – spaghetti, Tuesday – Thai peanut salad…..etc”, you know for sure I would not want to follow it. I am going to try to do as much prep as possible though. Like browning the ground beef for tacos and spaghetti, chopping the veggies for salads and soups, and forming the meatballs and freezing them. That way dinner is mostly done when I get home from work.

You’ve also got to know that at some point during the next two weeks I will tell my children to just eat cereal. No shame here.

Now it’s your turn to share a meal from your repertoire!

*Note to self: Don’t forget there’s “goodies” in the chicken.

3 Comments

Filed under Alaska, Bethel, Food

3 responses to “Ten Meals

  1. Trish, I made the bean recipe I told you about. It was very good. Over rice and you have a complete protein meal. We will know tomorrow if we can make it again. Depends on what happens to dad tonight.

  2. Jonah and I LOVE spaghetti. Everyone else hates it- so we force them to gag it down about once every two months.
    Last December Sebastian got this HUGE calendar from a supplier with great big squares that I write everything in- especially what is for dinner. If it is a Tuesday or Thursday I try to have something super easy or make a crock pot meal, since those are AWANA and youth group nights.
    Do tell, how much is a chicken? I just cringed because i paid $6 for one- I know I could have gotten it for $4 if i had gone to Hell- I mean Winco.

  3. Kat

    Most of the meals that are in constant rotation are on my blog (you know…the one where I don’t blog at anymore!). This week we are having French dip, pasta with alfredo/spinach/chicken, breakfast for dinner, and burgers. I love doing a roasted chicken – it’s easy and cheap. But is it cheap there?? Is there a meat that is cheap there – or any grocery item at all that is cheap? Or even comparably priced to what you would pay in the lower 48s?

Leave a Reply

